CR double high and tie downs

5 replies to this topic
  • secretatlas

Posted April 08, 2003 - 01:52 PM

hey,
two questions for the forum:

1. seems like the karma wheel has been kicking me in the ass when it comes to dumping my bike over when it's in the back of the truck. i've never dropped a bike when it's tied down until i started riding the 650r. i think it has to do with the fact that it's got big low slung balls and when they get a swingin... anyhow, i've dropped it twice now in three months with this latest drop resulting in a caved in radiator...luckily no leaks just smashed fins. i've always used rabbit ears and highend tiedowns and keep them fresh by cycling them out every couple of months to mtn bike duty.
are you guys doing anything extra? i was thinking about doubling up on each side but not sure if that would make a difference. seems like when the bike gets swinging there aint no stopping it.

2. i want to inch up a little bit and use the CR double high bend bars. anybody around 6 foot tall 170 lbs go from a brp triple clamp with cr highs to the double high? at this point i'd rather go with taller bars than taller triple clamp mounts...but i'm afraid the double highs may be a bit too high... thoughts?

thanks,
kc

• motometal

Posted April 08, 2003 - 04:48 PM

please give more details on how you are tying down the bike, and how it tipped over. Did the front wheel get out of position? How close are the tires to the side of the truck bed or the tie point?

Something's not right here, i've tied down big heavy street bikes with nothing more than a pair of Ancras with no problems...

• Terrain Rider 4z

Posted April 08, 2003 - 05:49 PM

Are you tying in a slip knot just below the buckle on the tie down??? I would assume so, but a wise man once told, "Never assume anything." Well, maybe it wasn't a wise man, but I did hear it from someone :) (in a bar most likely).