New to all this need some advice yz400f

7 replies to this topic
  • jagarcia89

Posted September 14, 2009 - 09:03 PM

Let me start off by saying I haven't been riding my own machine since I rode 80 and 100cc 2 strokes 5 years ago. But I'm long over my broken femur and wanted to get into riding again so I bought a used 400f. I got a lot of questions and anyone that can offer a tad bit of advice would be helpful. Be easy on me, I'm new to four strokes and thumper talk.

First off this bike came from kansas and I'm in CO at 6000 feet, what jets and such do I need to swap?

Also this things a real tough one to start, I can get it eventually but any tips on makin it fire up easier?

And lastly any common problems these things have that i should prepare for or extra parts/ accesories i should look into?

any help is appreciated, even if it's somethin I didnt ask and you got a little tip for these, let me know

• got5steelman

Posted September 15, 2009 - 07:40 AM

Start off by checking the YZ jetting data base thread in this forum, it is the 2nd post on the front page, you can see what jetting has worked for others, once you get it jetted correctly it will help with your starting issues. I think there is also a link to a video of starting technique in the common thread post also.

• YZ400dave

Posted September 15, 2009 - 08:22 AM

The 400 is a great bike, but it is 10 years old so you should go in and check your valves and replace your timing chain. while your in there you should think about swaping out the exaust cam with one from a 03 yz450. this will get rid of the decompression lever proceedure and make it easier to start... i did the mod and had never worked on cams or valve and it was pretty easy with the instructions found on here took about 2 hours... adjusting your valves and getting the jetting right will make the 400 an easy starter.. also doing the light blue wire mod found in the sticky will make starting in gear eaiser.. have fun with the 400!

• jagarcia89