My Wr400FL

31 replies to this topic
  • Dchdmn

Posted August 31, 2009 - 05:54 PM

Hey guys!

I'm just getting started on this forum so I thought id tell about my bike and maby get a few answers solved..

To begin, I have a WR400FL (1999). Its awesome :)
Just got this puppy last week, it hauls a**.

Im *sorta* new to riding bikes, ive ridden my friends but anyways, some may think for a beginner its a huge bike but im a big guy, 6' 3", 160lbs.. And I can handle it perfectly.

I just have some general questions for ya'll..

1.) Whats the top speed of my bike *about*? I know its kinda childish but im going to be driving this as my first car, rather then an actual car.

2.) How come when i quickly hit the throttle (but barely giving it gas to even up the RPM, then it dies :S

3.) How good of an on road bike will this be??

Im totally stoked about this bike but I would love to have these few questions answered! :ride:

I bought it for $3kUSD. Perfect condition, brand new tires, forks with shocks and a new exhaust pipe thats supposed to 'muffle' the noise out put (but its still pretty darn loud).

Thanks!!!

• pablo83

Posted September 06, 2009 - 07:51 PM

1.) Whats the top speed of my bike *about*? I know its kinda childish but im going to be driving this as my first car, rather then an actual car.
[COLOR="red"]depends on the gearing. My WR426 with [EDIT] 15/50 gearing will do 87.5 MPH at 8000 ft elevation, but stock gearing will not get you this fast.[/COLOR]

2.) How come when i quickly hit the throttle (but barely giving it gas to even up the RPM, then it dies :S
[COLOR="red"]You accelorator pump (AP) is not working properly. Do a search, there are millions of threads on it. And try the O-ring mod[/COLOR]