Stock skid plate on '07

6 replies to this topic
  • Wrfrk

Posted August 24, 2009 - 07:00 AM

So I've been wondering just how durable these polimer skid plates are that come on these WR's?

• WR_Dave

Posted August 24, 2009 - 07:58 AM

I have no personal experience with them other than watching the one on my buddies bike fill up with mud and grass. I don't like that it doesn't cover the frame rails all the way back and the opening at the front is just a shovel. You could likely make a small plastic plate to screw,rivet,zipty onto the front opening, but I have seen a severly gouged frame rail in the rocks where we ride and the aftermarket skidplates make me feel better about that. Although they do increase engine noise and I did modify mine to please my own ideas about protection ( of the bike :ride: ) Here is a lengthy thread on the subject with my own skid plate on display. http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=475387

WR Dave

• erickdj

Posted August 24, 2009 - 08:54 AM

So I've been wondering just how durable these polimer skid plates are that come on these WR's?

It all depends on where and how you ride. I bought my 07 WR a little over two years ago and have put MANY miles/hours of use into it, still has the stock skid plate. It has the expected scratch marks, but no cracks at all. I ride in a wide variety of terrain, some with quite a few rocks, but I've been ok with the stock unit. Unless you're going to ride in a place like this all the time:http://www.thumperta...657#post8491657 I'd question the benefit on an aluminum plate, but that's just my opinion.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Wrfrk

Posted August 24, 2009 - 09:01 AM