'02 YZ426F oil change problem

7 replies to this topic
  • austinjval

Posted August 22, 2009 - 05:09 PM

I just changed the oil on my 426. After draining all the oil and replacing the oil filter I went to refill the oil. After 3/4 of a quart the oil began over flowing from the filler tube. I checked the oil level and it was ~4" above the max oil level on the dipstick. I started the bike and the level remained the same. I let the bike sit for a bit and went back to check it. When I checked the dipstick while the bike was off and cold the dipstick was dry. I started the bike and the level rose to ~3" above the max. level on the dipstick. Could this be an air bubble or something? Any thoughts on how to fix it. I don't want to run my bike without adequate lubrication and I don't want to take it to the shop if it's an easy fix. I'm new to dirt biking but I love it and really want to go riding tomorrow so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance!

• DeeCee

Posted August 22, 2009 - 06:02 PM

Did you drain the oil from the sump and the drain located at the bottom of the frame down tube ? If you didn't this could be why you have not been able to put in as much oil as you were expecting.

Assuming you did, the correct way to check the oil level is to run the motor for 1-2 minutes, turn it off, and then check the level.

Check the maintenance sticky posts, there is a link to an owners manual there. you will find the manual most helpful.

• austinjval

Posted August 22, 2009 - 06:27 PM