Would you hold off?

30 replies to this topic
  • Greg_C

Posted March 28, 2003 - 06:57 AM

There is an 03 WR sitting on the floor at my local dealer. I was all set to make a deal on it even had the wife’s ok, then checked TT and found the problem with the Woodruff Key. I did a 180 after reading the posts and decided not to go for it. My 00 WR runs great and I don’t want to trade it for a lemon. Let me know what you guys think.

• sabooo

Posted March 28, 2003 - 07:06 AM

I can only speak for myself, but if i had known about all of this before putting money down, I'd have likely bought something else. I've only put about 10 miles on mine as break in, and to be quite honest I'm afraid to ride it like I normally would (ie. far from the truck) for fear of catastrophic failure. What i've experienced with it so far has been nothing but great, but having this stuff nag at you while riding is annoying.

Cheers,
Sabooo

• oRGie

Posted March 28, 2003 - 07:11 AM

I'm no expert, so just my personal opinion from reading the posts in TT, yes, wait till Yamaha come clean and get a bike that has the right parts from factory, I woudnt be happy knowing the apprentice at the local shop did the recall work.. I just got a 98wr400 and love it so much i was considering a new one rather than rebuild the 98, but now I will defo wait at least 6 months.. (mind you, this sort of problem isnt exclusive to Yamaha, 1st year models often have problems that get sorted in later editions)

• jwriott

Posted March 28, 2003 - 07:18 AM

I think you are making a smart decision. Put the cash in the bank and wait for the 04 model or buy something else. Why buy a bike that you know has problems when there are so many other good bikes out there?

Yamaha needs to pull their heads out and actually fix these bikes. They also need to supply current owners with something in writing stating they will fix the problem regardless whether or not the 30 day warranty has expired.