Hot Cams

I have a 2007 WR450F. I am thinking of installing the exhaust hot cam. Maybe both the intake and exhaust hot cam. What change in horse power can I expect to get from these changes (exhaust cam or both exhaust and intake).

Thanks,

Thomas

I would do both...

I have no personal experience with Hotcams but did have YZ cams installed in my 07' for a while. Both int and ex and the power gains were awesome.

Unfortunately I suffered the "e-start no workee" after the YZ cam install so I contacted Hotcams and their tech support was very helpful... shoot them an e-mail and explain what you are looking for and I think they have options based on what your looking for in gains.

I have heard various things... some people have said the best gains are achieved by a more aggressive int cam only + hi-comp piston.

I know the YZ cam set made my WR a beast, I loved the tractor like pull from the bottom all the way thru the mid, it made the gears feel taller too.

Good Luck - I am personally interested in how it turns out... I have a new bike now and want to upgrade the cams and am definitely considering Hotcams over OEM YZ this time.

I have Hotcams, both intake, and exhaust, on my '04, but I also installed a FMF Ti PowerCore at the same time (Had the stock exhaust, with spark arrestor, and end all removed, with stock cams before that), and the difference was amazing. Big power gains.

No E-Start issues at all.

One more thing. I am a novice mechanic. Can I do the Hot Cam intall myself? Do I need a shim kit? The shim kit is kind of pricey. Do I need any special tools?

Thanks

I bought the shim kit years ago, I think I got it thru rocky mountain and it was $80.... it sucks because half og them you will NEVER use on a Yamaha. BUT it's a lot easier than intalling your cams, finding that you need to adjust and then going on the hunt for specific shims.... you'll be glad you have the kit when the time comes.