Can't figure out where this came from?

17 replies to this topic
  • WNY_06S3

Posted July 14, 2009 - 12:10 PM

Checking valve clearances today and when I took the cylinder head cover off this fell onto the garage floor.... I've had the head cover off a time before but don't remember ever seeing this piece. Its semi hard plastic with two circular indents on one side.

Valve clearances seemed to be on the lower side of within spec so I'm going to leave them for now since the weather is nice. Any help with identifying where this piece goes would be greatly appreciated. This is my first time posting a picture so hopefully it works. If better pictures are required to identify it please let me know.

http://s658.photobuc...nt=DSCF0231.jpg

• KJ790

Posted July 14, 2009 - 12:49 PM

I believe that is the cam chain guide that is supposed to be glued to the underside of the valve cover (above where the cam chain runs).

• grayracer513

Posted July 14, 2009 - 01:04 PM

I believe that is the cam chain guide that is supposed to be glued to the underside of the valve cover (above where the cam chain runs).

I believe you're right.

• BigB250F

Posted July 14, 2009 - 07:35 PM

Yep, that 's what it is. I had one come loose on my 250F and freeze the motor up. The mechanic at the shop told me you could stick it back in place with JB weld if it is not damaged...I do not know what kind of glue you could use.

• grayracer513

Posted July 15, 2009 - 05:57 AM

The mechanic at the shop told me you could stick it back in place with JB weld if it is not damaged...I do not know what kind of glue you could use.

It came off once, there's no reason to think it will stay on. If there's no significant damage to the mounting pegs in the cover, get a new one. You can use 3M Super Weatherstrip Adhesive or epoxy to help it stay put.

You should also examine your cam chain carefully for kinking. Under most normal circumstances, nothing would hit that hard enough to dislodge it.

• matt4x4