2007 WR450F - Won't Run After Modifications

22 replies to this topic
  • thomasj234

Posted July 02, 2009 - 11:56 AM

I got the AIS removal kit and did the following mods. Gray wire disconnect, small muffler baffle removed, throttle stop screw replaced, air intake snorkels removed, punched hole to access fuel screw and re-jetted with the jets that came with the AIS kit. the fuel screw has two turns per the instructions.

After it was all back together it would not fire up. I let it sit all night and tried it in the morning. It fired up but wouldn't run at idle and seemed to want to quit due possibly to lack of fuel. I opened the fuel screw a little more and it ran again but only if I held the hot start lever open even though it was not hot. Now I'm thinking that maybe it is getting too much fuel. I have no experience tuning the carb like this and was hoping for a little insight.
Thanks in advance.

Thomas

• PBDBLUE

Posted July 02, 2009 - 12:53 PM

By any chance did you remove the fuel screw at any time? Oring, washer and spring still in there? If the oring falls out it can cause problems with the idle mixture. It's tiny so you might not notice.

• Krannie McKranface

Posted July 02, 2009 - 05:11 PM

By any chance did you remove the fuel screw at any time? Oring, washer and spring still in there? If the oring falls out it can cause problems with the idle mixture. It's tiny so you might not notice.

+1

Adding hot start means leaning the mixture. You are getting too much fuel in the pilot circuit I believe.
Check the fuel screw for o-ring.

• zukrider

Posted July 04, 2009 - 04:52 AM

I think you are to rich, the jets that come with the kit might work at sea level in winter not in Utah in the summer. Sound like you are pretty much stock I'd put a 165 main and 45 or 48 pilot depending on how its running. Like the other guys said check the spring, washer, oring on the fuel screw.

• thomasj234

Posted July 04, 2009 - 10:27 AM