2003 YZF450 info ?

14 replies to this topic
  • got2strum

Posted June 26, 2009 - 03:48 PM

Hi all,
I am looking to get back into racing after a 9 year break . I know, its been awhile. After getting married and having kids, well you know how it goes.
Anyway, I recently found an 03' YZF 450 that is supposed to be mint. Original owner raced a few races before crashing hard and then let bike sit until current owner bought in 05'. He raced bike about half a season before hurting himself badly enough to leave bike sit as well. Bike is supposedly extremely good condition with title in hand.
Does this sound like a decent used bike buy and did these bikes have any major issues ? The last bike I raced was a 1993 CR 250. Would it be an improvement as far as handling/suspension ? I'm new to the four stroke mx bikes so I know that will take some adjustment.
Appreciate any info. Thanks.

• GENE426

Posted June 26, 2009 - 03:51 PM

I loved my 2004 and was pretty much the same as the 03
Never had a problem with it at all

• RJacks

Posted June 26, 2009 - 06:16 PM

Very erratic motor, but more tame than the previous years 426. If you are coming back from a 9 year hiatus, I would ride the bike and see what you think first. My suggestion though would be a flywheel weight to tame it down. Thinking back, I would've done the same thing when I bought mine back then. Suspension and handling will be better than your CR, but watch out for throttle chops on jump faces, and engine braking that you will not for see.

• grayracer513

Posted June 26, 2009 - 06:39 PM

The engine is not erratic in any way, nor is it at all tamer than any 426, or much of anything else. The engine is in fact a great deal like a 2-stroke in that it's power is somewhat instantaneous and free revving, but much different in that the power curve is 3 times as wide, the throttle exerts far more linear control over the engine, and if you can hear it running, it's "on the pipe".