Coolant???

9 replies to this topic
  • galant2nr

Posted March 20, 2003 - 06:45 AM

Ok, So I am new to the motorcycle thing but in all my hotrods I swear by Redline Water Wetter instead of traditional coolant. Does anyone else run this in their bikes instead of green stuff? Any reason I shouldn't? (besides freezing) A cooler motor should run better and Water Wetter usually drops my car temps by at least 10 degrees.

• jim-in-so-ore

Posted March 20, 2003 - 06:49 AM

I used Water Wetter in my WR 400 & now it's in my WR450. There is NO reason not to. Cool is cool.
Jim

• MOmilkman

Posted March 20, 2003 - 06:51 AM

A lot of folks run "Engine Ice". Its premixed and ready to put in.
Ive been using Spectro Premixed coolant for a long time with no problems but my dealer has stopped carrying it so Im going with Engine Ice next.

No reason water wetter wont work as good in your bike as it does your hot rods too.

• YAMAKAZE

Posted March 20, 2003 - 06:57 AM

I am on the verge of going back to the green coolant....Last three races I lost all my Engine Ice due to overheating in very muddy race conditions. Gets a little expensive to replace Engine Ice at $16.95 per 1/2 gallon. If you read the fine print the Newer Prestone has the same boiling point as the Engine Ice, and mixed 50/50 you get 2 gallons for $7.95 at Autozone.

I never had any problems with the prestone in th past in my YZ , but decided recently to go with the Engine Ice just because I had been using it in my WR.

Bonzai :)

• x2smoker

Posted March 20, 2003 - 08:22 AM

I considered trying it to see if it eliminates boiling over (only happened twice) on hot days/slow trails. But then I would have to drain it every winter.

You didn't say where you are located, but here in Minnesota freezing would be a problem.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • MOmilkman

Posted March 20, 2003 - 09:59 AM

Why would it freeze?