swapping to WR tranny questions (yes I searched)

7 replies to this topic
  • YZ450 Desert Rat

Posted June 18, 2009 - 12:31 PM

yes I did a search. I know it is possible, and I know that my 06YZ450 will require an '07 WR tranny.

I neglected to find a thread that lists the exact parts/special tools required.

I am a former auto mechanic, but motorcycles are a little alien to me. I most likely have all the tools necessary, but want to be sure.

[COLOR="red"]1.[/COLOR] what special tools (other than wrenches, sockets, screwdrivers, etc.) are required?

[COLOR="red"]2.[/COLOR] Exactly what parts are needed besides the gears themselves?

[COLOR="red"]3.[/COLOR] While I have this much disassembled, what would be a no brainer to replace or upgrade?

If I missed a thread, can you kindly point me in the right direction?

I wanted to originally sell the bike and get a CA green sticker bike, but no longer.

• grayracer513

Posted June 18, 2009 - 12:53 PM

yes I did a search. I know it is possible, and I know that my 06YZ450 will require an '07 WR tranny.

I neglected to find a thread that lists the exact parts/special tools required.

I am a former auto mechanic, but motorcycles are a little alien to me. I most likely have all the tools necessary, but want to be sure.

[COLOR="red"]1.[/COLOR] what special tools (other than wrenches, sockets, screwdrivers, etc.) are required?

Necessary:
  • a flywheel puller.
  • A torque wrench capable of accurately measuring 75 inch pounds (cam caps)
  • A torque wrench capable of accurately measuring 10-30 foot pounds (head bolts)
  • A service manual
Important, but you can work around it:
  • A blind bearing puller for the left mainshaft bearing
Nice, but you don't need it:
  • The pullers/presses for installing/removing the crank

[COLOR="red"]3.[/COLOR] While I have this much disassembled, what would be a no brainer to replace or upgrade?