just got a 02 yz426f help please

10 replies to this topic
  • GeorgeJettson

Posted June 08, 2009 - 08:20 PM

Im new to TT looks like a great site, I picked up a 02 yz426 on sunday , the guy I got it from said he just had the valves adjusted he said the dealer told him they did not need to be replaced. he also had the carb rebuilt, he said. I rode the bike it was strong .the guy I got it from told me he left it stock ,I dont know much about older bikes but when I rode it I loved it. I have a new Honda 450.my boys out grew the 230 they ride . I got the 02 for the green sticker (california year round riding) when I got it home I took the seat off and the air filter was filthy but behind it was clean (thank God) .I figured that the oil must need to be changed too if he neglected the air filter , when I removed the oil filter it had steel shavings on it alot of shavings, I did not find any shavings in the oil when I drained it from the frame or the case,so I pulled both side covers and ran a magnet in every hole, it came out clean I put a new filter in put the oil in and rode it around the hood I got it in 4th and 5th gear both gears are solid . I went back laid it on its side and took out the oil filter it had no shavings in it not even one . sorry for the wordy post ,
I realy like this Bike it seems like it will be fun to ride, if any one has sugestions please let me know Im trying to avoid a costly problem

• RCJIM

Posted June 13, 2009 - 05:32 PM

dont worry, happens when you dont change the oil often since the engine and clutch oil are the same, i have had mine for a year know, rode it in many poker runs and in the desert 100 and ironman with no problems, have fun

• Aka.Goose

Posted June 13, 2009 - 07:13 PM

I didn't catch what you need help with?

• RCJIM

Posted June 14, 2009 - 04:29 AM

"when I removed the oil filter it had steel shavings on it alot of shavings"

• byggd

Posted June 14, 2009 - 04:37 AM