YZ400 only runs with the choke on

5 replies to this topic
  • cuvalaj

Posted May 23, 2009 - 01:38 PM

So i have a 98 YZ400F, i recently took it out of storage while i was deployed and cleaned out the carb and changed all the fluids. i have no experience in pulling apart a carb so i enlisted the help of our forums like any good owner should do. i had alot of gummy build up under the accelerator pump diapragm. so i gleaned it up and got all of the corrosion off of the shaft too. i cleaned the jets which werent obviously dirty but even a little is alot right? LOL. so now that its all together it only runs with the choke on. i have checked for leaks and made sure my fuel screw is at 1.4 turns out i set the idle screw a little high but i did that so i didnt have to mess wit the throttle too much once i got it started. i got fresh gas in her and i cleaned any foul off the plug. its getting frustrating. the only jet i could get an accurate number off of was the needle jet, its a 175. the others im unsure of their sizes. i dont want to take her in but ill be damned if this isnt frustrating LOL please help i wanna ride! :doh: thanks in advance! oh yeah i live in central cali where its hot and dry and about level elevation.

• 426 NOOB

Posted May 23, 2009 - 04:58 PM