02 WR426 Trail Suspension Settings

5 replies to this topic
  • hazey123

Posted May 23, 2009 - 12:28 PM

I'm starting to look into the stock suspension on my 2002 WR426 and looking for some suggestions. I am new to highly adjustable suspensions so any help is appreciated. I ride mostly tighter trails and help with cornering is always good. I am about 5'9" 180lbs and not crazy about spending a bunch of money with custom work... not right now anyway.

Current settings from bikes previous owner on stock suspension:

Forks:
Compression-15 clicks out
Rebound-12 clicks out

Rear:
Low Compression-16 clicks out
High Compression- 1 3/8 turns out
Rebound-11 clicks out

Thanks for the help.

• hazey123

Posted May 24, 2009 - 04:39 PM

As a beginner to the suspension adjustment world I'm looking for some basic direction for my type of riding(trails). Maybe some pros and cons to harder vs. softer?
From what I can tell the settings I'm running now are a bit soft compared to the standards in the manual.
Thanks for any help or advise.

• byggd

Posted May 25, 2009 - 01:08 PM

IMO the best thing to do is bring the settings back to the factory settings, take it for a ride and go from there. The 02 wr426 was built for a rider about your weight (170-180) so you may or may not need to re-spring in the future.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • hazey123

Posted May 25, 2009 - 05:51 PM

IMO the best thing to do is bring the settings back to the factory settings, take it for a ride and go from there. The 02 wr426 was built for a rider about your weight (170-180) so you may or may not need to re-spring in the future.

Thanks. Any other general info that might help point me in the right direction like whats better for cornering, best for hard trails, best for mud. I think I'll know if it is too stiff and I'm rattling off the bike but not sure I'll know/ recognize if it is too soft. I may just get used to it.