Healing time - Broken Ribs

20 replies to this topic
  • 98cr250r

Posted May 11, 2009 - 06:22 AM

Searching I've just come up with that the pain of broken ribs lasts from 1 to 3 months... But how long 'till they are actually healed?

I had a 'get off' about 2 weeks ago, broke 3 ribs... Everything is coming along great.. the pain is getting to be more and more of a minor inconvenience. I'm planning on giving it some time, so I can get through my normal range of motion without much discomfort... before I start riding again.

But my big question is, how long until the bones are actually healed? Good as new? Not just pain free... I'm 41... heh I was going to say a non smoker, but I'm a welder, so I probably smoke more than a smoker :excuseme:

• Decreasing Dave

Posted May 11, 2009 - 05:05 PM

I'm gonna wait for this answer as well.

Dave

• willbilly

Posted May 11, 2009 - 06:56 PM

I broke 3 ribs in the back when I was 36. I am 46 now. One of the ribs punctured my lung. They were broken very badly. They rattled around for almost a month then, just as the doc said, they "set." They still hurt occasionally. Glucosamine/Chondroitin seems to help. Hope you heal well. Good luck.
p.s. this is a stupid sport. I don't know why I can't give it up.

• joker_101

Posted May 11, 2009 - 10:07 PM

I fractured my ribs. It was around 2 1/2 months untill the pain went away.

• joker_101

Posted May 11, 2009 - 10:08 PM

Hey Dave, what injuries have you had on the track with your sport bike?

• davidl9999

Posted May 11, 2009 - 10:16 PM

Took a couple of months before two of mine "settled in" to the point that they weren't moving around when I breathed. Almost two years later, I still have a third rib head that I can feel when I cough and when I sit at "just the wrong angle". It all depends...

• Decreasing Dave

Posted May 11, 2009 - 10:50 PM

On the track I had ribs (twice) and herniated disk once when the bike landed on my back.