Can a bent header be repaired?

11 replies to this topic
  • iamadam1122

Posted May 05, 2009 - 09:03 PM

My head pipe bent in a crash. I took it to one exhaust shop so far and they said they couldn't do anything because its titanium. Anyone else know if its fixable?
Posted Image

• BC3

Posted May 05, 2009 - 09:09 PM

[COLOR="Blue"]I have a couple stories about bent head pipes but can't confirm them .......One of my buddies said he filled his pipe with water and froze it in the freezer and it fixed it......another guy said he made some plugs to cap the pipe and put compressed air in it and slowly heated it with a OA torch and that fixed his pipe......I'm a welder and I looked at your picture or your pipe and think with the creases in the radius's your probably going to buy a new pipe so you have nothing to lose I would try the freezing
method first.....Good luck[/COLOR]

• iamadam1122

Posted May 05, 2009 - 09:29 PM

Thanks for the advice. I'll give the freezing method a try. The crease is pretty bad its almost pinched shut completely

• KJ790

Posted May 05, 2009 - 09:31 PM

[COLOR="Blue"]I have a couple stories about bent head pipes but can't confirm them .......One of my buddies said he filled his pipe with water and froze it in the freezer and it fixed it......another guy said he made some plugs to cap the pipe and put compressed air in it and slowly heated it with a OA torch and that fixed his pipe......I'm a welder and I looked at your picture or your pipe and think with the creases in the radius's your probably going to buy a new pipe so you have nothing to lose I would try the freezing
method first.....Good luck[/COLOR]

Those methods work for dents, but not if it is bent or creased. Try sending it to Pacific pipe repair, they have a money back satisfaction guarantee.

• BC3

Posted May 05, 2009 - 09:34 PM

Those methods work for dents, but not if it is bent or creased. Try sending it to Pacific pipe repair, they have a money back satisfaction guarantee.