2005 rmz trouble

8 replies to this topic
  • kxtwofiddyeff

Posted 04 May 2009 - 06:07 PM

my buddy has a 2005 rmz from ebay it has so problems..he paid 1900 for it he rode it once for about 10 minutes it was over heating ......pissing antifreeze eveyehere ppissing out oil from the oil overflow .....the head pip was cherry red....on a bright clear day and it was smoking.....i gave him my input of something screwed up with the valves and stuck water pump... scored piston creating heat...so i wanted some more peoples input...o and hard starting

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Twitch yz125

Posted 04 May 2009 - 06:12 PM

common problem with the 04's with the overheating...but the rest...umm..smoke could b oil in the piston like a broken gasket....head pipe could b a result of the coolant...im not an expert

• kxtwofiddyeff

Posted 05 May 2009 - 08:55 AM

ya i mean i just told him to take it somewhere and say get it running right lol because its not worth 10 hours in the garage tinkering

• scotty2020

Posted 05 May 2009 - 05:33 PM

sounds like a blown head gasket and our poor coolant ciculation the pipe does get hotter than most. their is a weep hole on right side of piston head right below top of kick start put finger over it and kick it over with other hand if it blowes air our coolant you have a blown head gasket. The oil spitting out of case is probabley cracked piston our worn rings on piston creating pressure in case. If you fix all of that your self your looking around $550 for piston and all top end gaskets,seals and tools.

• rmz250suzuki

Posted 07 May 2009 - 08:10 AM

When the header pipe turns red, is this sign of something wrong?
We fired up my friends bike the other night after working on it, we noticed that after idling for a bit the header became bright red...