Grey wire

8 replies to this topic
  • Highsider1

Posted August 29, 2002 - 07:40 AM

I just joined up with ThumperTalk after reading posts for a couple of weeks. Purchased my first Thumper 1-1/2 months ago, a '02 WR426. Been a 2-stroker all my life (at least off-road) and decided to convert. Lovin' th WR and must say I am still learning the 4-stroke technique but now, after about 325 woods miles, it's coming together quite wonderfully. Oh, and the hill climbing attitude it has!! :) Will never return to the 2-stroke, except for "Novelty" only.

Anyway, question is: What are the wires you guys are disconnecting? I assume that one is a rev-limiter, what is the other? I uncorked the bike, the airbox, exhaust and throttle stop, and am happy with the R's I get now, but it does seem to hit some sort of limiter at high RPM. Is it really safe to rev much higher?

Any help is greatly appreciated. I already love the site/forum and hope I have some usefull input for you guys as well!

Oh, and by the way, I do recall reading on Yamaha web site that the WR450 is about 6 lbs lighter that the '02. The link was removed a while back.

• BrandonW

Posted August 29, 2002 - 08:15 AM

I am not POSITIVE, but I belive that the disconnection of the grey wire allows the bike to run off of a different CDI mapping, one that is smoother and allows the bike to run much better.

I have done this, and I found that my bike lost the stumble that I would get when I was bombing down the highway, seemed like the bike rolled on the power smoother, and it did not detriment the economy.

As for the wire, take off your tank, and look for a 2-wire black connector that has a black/w white wire and a grey wire. Disconnect that black connector, and pull the grey wire out from the back of the connector (I then pushed the grey wire up into the insulation) then reconnect the black connector.

That is all that is required.
\