Preparation for riding sand dunes?

4 replies to this topic
  • pat450-SLC

Posted April 30, 2009 - 09:18 AM

I just got my 03 YZ450f a few weeks ago and I am going out to the dunes at Little Sahara this weekend for the first time. Is there anything I need to do to prep my bike for riding in the sand? I have heard sand can mess up your bike pretty bad if your not careful. I'm a total noob so I'm trying to pick up as much info as I can. Any help is appreciated.

• x2468

Posted April 30, 2009 - 09:31 AM

I would say buy and outerwear pre-filter for your air filter. and go with 1 or 2 foam filters in zip lock bags, oiled and ready to swap into the bike when needed.

Have you re routed your breather tube? Im not an expert on it, so i don't know which models needed it. but i've seen a lot of discussion on one of the breather tubes that comes down by the swing arm. if it is hanging down the bottom of your bike, like it does stock, and sitting in the sand when you kick start or stall it will suck sand into the motor. in the sticky above titled common threads, there is a link to what it is and another link on how to fix it. most re route the tube into the airbox.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • x2468

Posted April 30, 2009 - 09:32 AM

and a paddle tire i suppose.

• wondermuscle

Posted April 30, 2009 - 02:33 PM

Some decent info in here.

http://www.thumperta...ad.php?t=774353

• HONDA NO MORE

Posted April 30, 2009 - 08:01 PM