5 replies to this topic
  • Motoist

Posted March 05, 2003 - 03:17 PM

I'm sure that this has come up before, but I was hoping you guys could shed some light as to the differences, and your opinions about the older wr400, compared to the newer wr models. Right now I have a KLX300, which isnt exactly a fire breather by any means (and thats the problem). I just blew the fork seals out at the local track, and am tired of the trailbike suspension. I was wanting to get a wr250 or the new cr250fx, but can't quite afford it, so I thought that since so many people are getting rid of their old wr's maybe I could snatch one up. Now I realize that the wr is going to be alot more to handle than my klx, but I have been riding for about four years now, and have ridden quite a few bikes. I will be doing some enduros and the occasional hair scramble. I live out in the open area of Northern New mexico, but there are some fairly tight woods. I also like to train on the local motocross track (which isn't that radical at all, but the klx is just getting the [censored] beat out of it), and need a bike with the suspension to handle it. Further I am worried about reliabillity, and ease of starting.
Let me know what you guys think (I'm 17, 150lbs, and about 6'1" by the way)

• Motoist

Posted March 05, 2003 - 03:21 PM

oh yeah, also what mods are recomended for this bike? Will jetting be a huge issue at 7k feet?

• Jekel

Posted March 05, 2003 - 04:21 PM

If you can get it, i would get the YZ or WR 250F. With your weight it would be awesome. I have ridden the WR250 and it is a lightweight. I have a 400 and it is a bit heavy and bulky in the tight. Get a used 250 and put a new cam in. Just my .02 :)

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • Dan_from_HB

Posted March 05, 2003 - 04:50 PM