Please I need help with an oil change

12 replies to this topic
  • Maxed-out

Posted April 21, 2009 - 06:52 AM

I just want some tips on how to change the oil on the yz426. I’m new to this, it’s my first time, if you can help i would appreciate all the info i can get:thumbsup:

?1) Now is there only one oil that runs through the whole bike, or is there two separate oils, (trans & motor)? Im thinking theres one?

?2) Off the top of your head what parts do I need to do this maintenance project (oil change)? Do they make a re-useable oil filter?

?3) should I replace the oil pump?

?4) What kind of oil should I use if im riding on the street/SM?

I Thank you all in advance for your help and feed back, I really like to come here and rely on all you TT members because I feel you all know the most with hands on experience.

• 426 NOOB

Posted April 21, 2009 - 08:52 AM

I just want some tips on how to change the oil on the yz426. I’m new to this, it’s my first time, if you can help i would appreciate all the info i can get:thumbsup:

?1) Now is there only one oil that runs through the whole bike, or is there two separate oils, (trans & motor)? Im thinking theres one?

?2) Off the top of your head what parts do I need to do this maintenance project (oil change)? Do they make a re-useable oil filter?

?3) should I replace the oil pump?

?4) What kind of oil should I use if im riding on the street/SM?

I Thank you all in advance for your help and feed back, I really like to come here and rely on all you TT members because I feel you all know the most with hands on experience.

1.There is only one oil for trans and motor. There are two drain plugs though. One on frame behind front tire, and one on bottom of case.
2. The only things you will need is oil, maybe new copper washers for the drain plugs if they leak, and a filter. The best SS oil filter you can get is a scotts, so i would highly recommend one (do a search on this there are many threads).