newbie jetting questions

9 replies to this topic
  • MrTwister

Posted March 01, 2003 - 02:15 PM

ok team, hunted through all the old posts but cant quite get the answers im looking for. i've got a '98 WR400, runs a twin air filter and YZ pipe, no other mods. main jet is 168, starter jet is 62, pilot jet is 45, these all seem to be stock for the Aust model. i have had the original exhaust on it and it wheelies like a monster and fouls plugs every 50kms, with the YZ pipe and the lid on its ok but feels a little sluggish at the bottom compared to when its got the original pipe. take the lid off and its like 250 at the bottom but the top is fine. seems to use plugs at a rate of 1 every 300kms. im new at this so some directons here would be great. all my riding is basically at sea level. thanks in anticipation

• Snapper

Posted March 01, 2003 - 03:57 PM

people don't seem to answer jetting questions anymore?

whats going on?

assuming your carby is functioning correctly check out the details in peoples signatures - judging by my own experiance and most Aussie's my bet is both your main and your pilot could be reduced - gotta also think about the position of your fuel mix screw.

the ratio of your PJ:PAJ and MJ:MAJ is important (see ratios in "jetting Q's" but I would start by reducing your main

put the airbox lid on the shelf unless doing lots of marine work

i am currently running a 160

• michaeltrundle

Posted March 01, 2003 - 06:58 PM

Another thing to check is the accelerator pump squirt duration. In standard form the older models would squirt for up to 5 seconds. My 2000 was about 3.5 - 4 seconds.
Do a search for the 'taffy mod' or the 'kl mod', I think thats what they called it for the 98 and 99 models, and 'BK mod" for 2000 and onwards.(someone correct me if I'm wrong)