YZ 426F gearing

6 replies to this topic
  • johnyd05

Posted April 05, 2009 - 07:45 PM

I am new to riding. I went out with some buddies in the woods. I was on a YZF 426F. The bike at idle in first gear was going way faster than anyone else. I believe it is stock gearing... a 49 sprocket in back and stock in front. What gears should I go to slow the bike down? first gear in my bike was like 2 gear in my buddies kawasaki 250F. I rode his bike and like being able to get into 2 and 3rd gear. What gears are recomeneded. I hope that makes sense.

• johnyd05

Posted April 05, 2009 - 07:45 PM

Also is there any way to get a lower seat. I cant put both feet on the ground while sitting on the seat. I wish I could.

• travisn

Posted April 06, 2009 - 08:53 PM

If you go up in the rear or down in the front it will make your bike slower at the top end, but youll be able to get into second or third more (like on tight trails)

I am thinking of doing this to my 400 because I never use 4th or 5th except when tearing down the street, which doesnt happen that much so its useless.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • jmckinney

Posted April 07, 2009 - 12:09 PM

Here in California I ride tight trails with a 12 in the front and a 51 in the rear... This helped me from stalling all the time... You may want to consider a fly wheel weight also...

• DrThumper

Posted April 07, 2009 - 12:24 PM

My '00 426 was stock with a 49 rear. For woods I initially changed it to a 52. Since then I added the Free Power Now, an accelerator pump cover (R&D I believe) and changed some jetting as I moved up to the Rocky Mountains.With the improved throttle response and lower end I went to a 51, now I'm running a 50 in the woods. Almost back to stock...

• Robbydalejr

Posted April 07, 2009 - 02:43 PM