what to look for when buying a wr400?

4 replies to this topic
  • Omagyz250

Posted April 02, 2009 - 11:02 PM

hi all

Im a yz 250 2 stroke man myself, but have a friend whos looking at buying a used wr400. im no expert with the 4 stroke machines and he has asked me to come and check it out with him.

Im just wondering what i should look out for in regards to not buying a lemon with the need to rebuild the head shortly after.

Ie will a worn out bike be harder to start than normal? will it make unusual sounds from around the head area?

any advise would be great, i can check the suspension and other parts for him but its the motor that could be the problem.

cheers:thumbsup:

• pablo83

Posted April 04, 2009 - 10:48 AM

hi all

Im a yz 250 2 stroke man myself, but have a friend whos looking at buying a used wr400. im no expert with the 4 stroke machines and he has asked me to come and check it out with him.

Im just wondering what i should look out for in regards to not buying a lemon with the need to rebuild the head shortly after.

Ie will a worn out bike be harder to start than normal? will it make unusual sounds from around the head area?

any advise would be great, i can check the suspension and other parts for him but its the motor that could be the problem.

cheers:thumbsup:

Best way to check the engine is with a compression tester. The WR400 did not come with an auto decompression cam, so you can check compression pretty easily. If you don't want to bring the tools to do a compression test, then feeling out the engine with the kick start is a good idea. You should not be able to push the engine thru compression without using the decomp lever. Well really you can, but it feels like your going to break your knee.

One of the biggest problems with this bike is off idle bog. But that's just a matter of adjusting the carb.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • JSanfilippo