YZ426F 2002 Coolant question

14 replies to this topic
  • Rotem_46

Posted April 01, 2009 - 02:38 PM

Hi,
This is my first post here so Hello everybody !!
I'm pretty new to dirt bikes, all my life I had sports bike and last year I decided it was time to sell my precious CBR954RR and get an MX bike in the shape of the 2002 Yamaha YZ426F. I have it for a year now and I only ride Enduro/Trails but I have a problem since day 1 and was wondering if its normal...My bike seem to lose coolant everytime I take it out, I usually fill the radiator all the way up with antifreeze but I noticed that everytime we rest the bike is wet as the water are coming out of the relief hose (the one where the cap is) I checked all the hoses and there are no leaks. Is it normal that after every ride I have to fill the radiator again? My father told me it may be a damaged cap but I can't just buy one as it cost here in Israel something like $80 !!! Also, I read that there are some 1.6 caps out there but I'm afraid it will damage my engine as the original state 1.1...
Any thoughts??
Thanks guys !!

• grayracer513

Posted April 01, 2009 - 03:05 PM

If you fill it all the way up, and the coolant expands when it gets hot, what do you suppose will happen?

Under normal conditions, If the radiator is full, and the bike is run at normal temps for any length of time, the coolant level will return to just above the tubes in the radiator core once it has cooled down. That is normal.

You should also know that the bike does not like to idle at a standstill for more than half a minute or so, and may boil over if it is subjected to strenuous work at very low speeds. That's also normal.

But, if you think the cap is weak, try one for a 1989-90 Toyota Corolla. They should be available in either 1.1 or 1.6 bar ratings, and will be much cheaper than the OEM cap.

• Rotem_46

Posted April 01, 2009 - 03:41 PM

hey,
Thanks for your answer man !!