why does my bike backfire?

35 replies to this topic
  • Benno84

Posted March 26, 2009 - 05:26 PM

My bike has started backfireing, there are no obvious exhaust problems, can anyone give some suggestions why it is doin this?

• massip 138

Posted March 26, 2009 - 06:35 PM

It could be lean. Turn the fuel screw out a bit and see what happens. Have you rejeted? In California the bikes come a bit lean from the factory.

• jimdager

Posted March 26, 2009 - 07:17 PM

sounds like lean to me, but wouldnt you turn the screw in? I thought it was an air screw, turning it out let in more air=leaner, turning it in meant less air=richer. I could be way off as I am just learning jetting myself, but someone please correct me if I am wrong as I have been doing things backwards.....

• the white stallion

Posted March 26, 2009 - 07:35 PM

On a 4stroke it's a fuel screw.Out is more fuel in is less.All bikes are jetted the same from the factory no matter what state it goes to.They wouldn't have different owners manuals for every state listing different stock jetting specs.Unless the op has more info to offer it's hard to tell whats going on and that it all of a sudden starting backfiring.does it backfire all the time at high rpms,is it a decel pop,did the temp rise signifantly outside. more than likely it's a decel pop which is the pilot jet.richen or turn out the fuel screw or go up to a 42 PJ.If he says he has no exhaust leak which if it all of sudden started backfiring and how bad this could be the problem.If it's hard to start and backfires bad it could be valve related.The MX bikes as opossed to an enduro bike does not come lean from the factory except most of them run a 40PJ and a 42 is better.The stock kxf is a 180 and most guy's go down on the main to a 175-172-170.Of course ones climate plays into all of this.

• jimdager

Posted March 26, 2009 - 07:58 PM