I need a push towards the WR450F

27 replies to this topic
  • Brian2071

Posted March 26, 2009 - 01:47 PM

Newbie here but I've been lurking for awhile. I'm getting back into riding on two wheels after a 15 year hiatus. My question is whether to go to the YZ450F or to the WR450F. I leaning towards the WR but I could use a push.

The terrain will be all SoCal desert (Ocotillo Wells) so there is a mix of technical slower type trails, lots of sandy washes, lots of whoops and considerable room for some high speed stuff. All my friends ride either YZ450's and CRF450R's. At 48 years old, comfort and reliability are more important so the WR with its electric start, lights and trip computer seem the way to go.

With rider experience being equal, will the WR keep up well enough with my buddies track bikes or should I be looking for a YZ? One note...I will be having the suspension on the WR totally reworked to match my weight.

• h20mn

Posted March 26, 2009 - 04:02 PM

Ride johnson/lucerne valley same type of riding. have no problem keeping up with buddys yz. Do get tired in tight stuff because of the extra weight but the electric start at 53 years old is worth it.

• garr87v

Posted March 26, 2009 - 04:29 PM

If your not going to hit the track i would go with a WR450, I keep up with guy's on YZ and CRF all the time. I usually pass them or leave th behind in the tight stuff :usa: I love the wr and the easy button is sweet in the technical stuff.:thumbsup:

• diegox450

Posted March 26, 2009 - 04:33 PM

Yessss.... magic button + confortable suspension + trip computer + headlights... very nice bike man! Bullet proof as you take care of her...

Good luck with your choice

• caryder

Posted March 26, 2009 - 04:43 PM

In a similar position. 49 years old, bought a WR over a YZ... Never owned a WR (or similar race capable enduro) before. Always went the MX route.