To all you master mechanics out there.

8 replies to this topic
  • billyboy11b

Posted February 23, 2003 - 08:01 PM

I just recently got my motor back from a shop where they put in a new valve seat. It took a while to work out a few bugs with the ignition and the carb, and now, lo and behold, it has no compression, and sucks in slightly on the exhaust pipe when you crank it. Could the auto decompression mechanism be stuck? I'm pretty frustrated, as I'm not good at figureing out what's wrong with things, but I can usually fix things when I know what's wrong. Any help would be appreciated. I did pop open the valve cover to look at the timing marks on the cam sprocket to make sure it was timed correctly mechanically. Could this have messed me up? Thanks in advance for any help.

Hutch

• Dutch

Posted February 24, 2003 - 07:42 AM

There is an old saying about things going wrong, that is to look at the last thing that was done to it. I have seen newly installed valve seats come right back out. :)
I think where I would begin would be a carefull valve adjustment. Good luck and let us know when you figure it out.

• Moredesert

Posted February 24, 2003 - 08:55 AM

I would go back in and chect the valves again. If the decompression lever is stuck you'll have a tight valve. If you ran the bike at all it might mean the valves are seating and tightened up. Depending on the bike no fuel can seem like you have no compression. On my bike a dry cylinder kicks over real easy until I choke it than the rings seal and I can hardly kick it.

• billyboy11b

Posted February 24, 2003 - 11:10 AM