YZ426...at wit's end!

11 replies to this topic
  • Readymixer

Posted March 24, 2009 - 07:43 PM

Any info is appreciated. I have combed the threads prior to posting this. I have tried almost everything so please advise me. My 426 won't start. Never had an issue in the past but now not even a sputter. I have removed the carb and cleaned it. However, I did not remove the bowl because I am not experienced with anything inside the bowl.

I replaced the cleaned carb and changed the spark plug...twice. I checked for spark prior to putting them in and they gave a spark. I kick and kick but I get no fire at all. I am at my wit's end with this. Can anyone offer some advice on this one. Thanks!

• YoungGun360

Posted March 24, 2009 - 08:27 PM

Check the valves.

• Birdy426

Posted March 25, 2009 - 12:41 AM

Everything you need to clean when you clean the carb is inside the bowl. If your bike sat for a while, it could be that the jets are gummed up. The manual tells you everything you need to know to clean them out. Are you sure you are getting gas to the carb? When you take out the plug, is it wet? I assume you have a clean air filter. You might want to be sure the Hot Start is not stuck open as well. Have you run a compression check?

• matt4x4

Posted March 25, 2009 - 03:20 AM

Check your valve lash if everything Birdie said has been done or checked out. My neighbour had the exact same issue with his wr250, once we shimmed his valves correctly it started first kick.

• Mrmonk7663

Posted March 25, 2009 - 03:46 AM

Does your bike have a battery? If so try hooking your bike up to a fresh battery. 2 weeks ago my bike wouldn't start. Only change in bike was A. sitting and B. battery had gone dead....bike would not kick start period with dead battery, I could only bump start it. I put in a new battery and 1-2 kicks it fires up!!!

• odlaw19

Posted March 25, 2009 - 12:20 PM

If it was starting before you cleaned the carb, good chance that is where your problem lies.