O-ring..... Carb Leaking Gas

7 replies to this topic
  • gator4life108

Posted March 21, 2009 - 04:06 PM

Ok, so I have the usual carb pissing gas out of the bottom of it......I have mine apart looking for this o-ring that everyone talks about that is the usual problem.

Where the heck should it be, Im a noob at this, I've looked over the parts manual and Im not seeing anything.

Thanks

• William1

Posted March 21, 2009 - 05:14 PM

The oring is under the float needle seat. Parat of part #25

Posted Image

• gator4life108

Posted March 21, 2009 - 08:36 PM

Posted Image

That's what I thought, just I couldn't find a way to get it out.....

Thanks for the clarification tho.

• Birdy426

Posted March 22, 2009 - 07:59 AM

Take out screw No 26 and the float seat will just pull out.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • vfr661

Posted March 22, 2009 - 06:53 PM

Instead of buying the whole float needle set for $50+, I replace the o-ring for $0.50 and solve the gas leak problem. After you take out the float needle set, inspect it and figure out what needs replacing. Most of the time it's only the o-ring that needs to be replaced. However, Yamaha do not sell each piece individually. Go to a reputable motorcycle shop do repair and they should be able to sell you the o-ring for under a buck. That's what I did and thought I share.

• Birdy426

Posted March 22, 2009 - 09:35 PM

Instead of buying the whole float needle set for $50+, I replace the o-ring for $0.50 and solve the gas leak problem. After you take out the float needle set, inspect it and figure out what needs replacing. Most of the time it's only the o-ring that needs to be replaced. However, Yamaha do not sell each piece individually. Go to a reputable motorcycle shop do repair and they should be able to sell you the o-ring for under a buck. That's what I did and thought I share.