2002 Yz426f Header Pipe Turns Red!

6 replies to this topic
  • GASIT426

Posted March 06, 2009 - 09:46 AM

Hey gang! I posted this on another forum somewhere else, just trying to get some ideas. I'm new to this whole forum/thread posting thing so bear with me until I get used to this. Well to start it off, I got out of riding bikes several years ago. In 2005 I bought a 400EX and it just wasn't the thrill I was used to having, so this past week I sold it and bought me a 2002 YZ426F after hearing some good things about it. This thing is awesome. It's in mint condition, Protaper bars, Yamaha Factory graphics, and a Vortex sprocket out back. The original owner was a motorcycle mechanic moved the decomp. lever to where it is below the throttle which actually makes it easier to use IMO, and actually moved the HOT start switch up to the top on the handlebars and modified it so it did not look all jacked up...it's now a switch instead of a pull-out like the choke. So far I am pleased with this bike. It's a handfull and very ballsy but fun to ride all the same. I heard they were hard to start but after a few minutes of trial and error I learned the trick to getting it to fire up and have no problem out of it now....starts 1st or 2nd kick every time, hot or cold!!! My only concern is, when it is at idle for a short period of time, my header pipe will turn so red hot near the motor it's not even funny. Is this normal for these bikes?
What are some things I can do to fix this problem?
It seems to be fine as long as I am riding and keep air moving through the bike, but once you stop for a couple minutes :p it'll heat right back up and be glowing red. Any help will be appreciated!

• BKRacing

Posted March 06, 2009 - 09:49 AM

Totally normal, your not the first to ask this question. I accually called the dealer when I first saw it on mine. Congrats on the new bike, you'll love it.

• grayracer513

Posted March 06, 2009 - 10:21 AM