lucas octane booster

11 replies to this topic
  • wellsy1

Posted March 02, 2009 - 05:23 PM

In my manual and on the bike when I bought it, it said to run 95octane or higher. Since I;m sure not all of us have the acsess to race gas, I run Chevron 94octane. Thats the highest octane I can get from the pumps. Has anyone tried or recommened triing lucas octane booster for motorcycles. It said on the bottle that it could be used in dirtbikes. If so would you have to rejet the carb? Its all ready bang on with the jet kit, and fuel screw i've added. And what would you have to change? "looked back a few pages had not seen this one yet" remember i'm a newbie:thumbsup:

• sirceo26

Posted March 02, 2009 - 05:31 PM

i wouldn't worry about one octane number as long as the plugs look good and you don't hear any detonation or anything

• wellsy1

Posted March 02, 2009 - 06:34 PM

Does a higher octane give you more horsepower? And what octane is race gas? Not that I need more power just wondering.

• 642MX

Posted March 02, 2009 - 06:36 PM

A stock (and properly jetted) YZF engine will run fine with 90 or 91 octane. :p

• 642MX

Posted March 02, 2009 - 06:38 PM

Does a higher octane give you more horsepower? And what octane is race gas? Not that I need more power just wondering.

Higher octane doesn't do anything for horsepower. You just need enough octane to keep the engine from spark-knocking. Too much octane will actually slow it down.

• yz007f

Posted March 02, 2009 - 06:45 PM

Higher octane does not give you more hp in most cases.. Putting it in your tank in some cases can make less hp in your motor... Race gas can go from 87 - C16 which is 160 octane....There are alot more factors than just the octane when you are looking at using race gas. Alot of these fuels have different burn Characteristics slower burns etc.. For using octane boosters I would stay away from them, in most cases they will gum up your valves and head surfaces.

yz007f