2007 zyf450 valves

5 replies to this topic
  • 450Rich

Posted March 01, 2009 - 09:00 PM

Hi i have a 2007 yzf 450 that i have riddin for two seasons now.
i was chekin my valve clearance an my intakes are 11-12 mm in spec and exhasts are26-25 it seem weard that they don't need lots of adgustment.
should i re shim exhast or ride it more I am new to shiming and any help or opioin would help thanks

• wellsy1

Posted March 02, 2009 - 10:48 AM

i think if that you are within spec it should be fine. Why would you have to re shim? I'm pretty sure that shims dont wear out. Look in your manual at valve clearence specs, and adjust them what your specs are. I know my 06 YZ450f Is between.010-.015mm intake and .020-.025mm exaust. Pretty sure?

• grayracer513

Posted March 02, 2009 - 11:05 AM

... it seem weard that they don't need lots of adgustment.

You'll get used to it.

I had an '03 for 4 years that never once needed a valve adjustment.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • LAndrew

Posted March 02, 2009 - 11:23 AM

That is what I like to hear when I think about getting a YZ.

Why is that? Is the Ti they use a different grade? Is it the coating? Is it the seats or spring pressure? As a CRF guy probably going to become a YZ guy I would like to know the reason if there is a concrete one.

As an ex mountain bike racer I know there are lots of grades of Ti, and then different qualities of each. If I remember the MIL spec 3Al/2.5V tubing cost so much because it had to be x-rayed to inspect for imperfections every so often and that upped the cost tons (Merlin frames). Then they had Russian grade industrial for much cheaper (I had Ti bar ends made from that stuff)
Ti often is misrepresented as being a wonder metal that could do everything
and had all the properties you could ever want. In my CRF it was a 60 hour replacemment valve that I now keep at work on my shelf as a cool showpiece.

• grayracer513