Wr450......wheelies

19 replies to this topic
  • xr600r

Posted February 15, 2003 - 11:22 AM

For you lucky guys that have actually ridden your 450's....is it easy to do wheelies on this bike ?
my XR was a slug, when it came to getting the front end up

• Jim_Patterson

Posted February 15, 2003 - 01:19 PM

I like to do wheelies but I'm not good at them. I am positive the 450's will do wheelies in many gears. All I have to to is roll the throttle and the front comes up like right now. Jim

• john450f

Posted February 15, 2003 - 03:35 PM

Your XR600 won't lift the wheel? My buddie is the wheelie master on his 600- they have relatively short wheelbase & BIG TORQUE. I suck at wheelies myself(balance type) but on my 450 I can lift in 2nd gear and carry at least thru 4th. Its the "balance point" that you and I have to get comfortable with. Both bikes have ample power

• xr600r

Posted February 15, 2003 - 04:26 PM

it would lift the front wheel, but not being a wheelie master myself, it wasnt that easy.
a TORQUE MONSTER ? lol. yea ok. :)

• wr250rr

Posted February 15, 2003 - 04:40 PM

My wr450 with the cork in the pipe wheelies way easier than my wr250 open pipe. :D I can only imagine it with the cork out!! :)
There is too much snow at my riding area so the only place to ride is on the street. So i leave the cork in and try not to piss off the neibours :D :D :D

• adamwagar

Posted February 15, 2003 - 04:51 PM

When I had my XR600 I would put it in third and pop the clutch to get it up. Third gear was a nice long gear and it gave me time to shift into fourth.

Based on my WR400 and 250 the Yamaha has a huge advatage over the old XRs. The balance point feels lower so you don't have to have the front wheel pointing straight up.

Also the rear brake is easier to modulate with the Yamaha. Only problem I have is when you bring it back down at 90 mph, you better have it straight, or be prepared for a scary tank-slapper.LOL. :)

• john450f

Posted February 15, 2003 - 05:16 PM