The Dreaded Bog

13 replies to this topic
  • Zeak

Posted February 09, 2009 - 07:11 AM

I know this has been discussed ad-nauseum, but I’m stuck. I just picked up a ’06 WR450 which I believe has all the free mods (air box, gray wire, throttle stop, and exhaust pea shooter.

The previous owned said it had been re-jetted also (whether it was correct is undetermined). The bike still has the bog just when I open the throttle and makes it impossible to just “cruise”. It’s more like it misses real bad. Doesn’t matter what gear I’m in. I read in the FAQ about a TPS. Could this possibly be it? Can I disconnect it like the grey wire?

I was following the kids yesterday and it was no fun. I either had to be on the gas or off. This is so flipping annoying. :)

Any suggestions? I’m a decent mechanic, but carb tuning is a bit out of my league.

Thanks

• Charles De Mar

Posted February 09, 2009 - 07:19 AM

I got rid of my bog by getting a yz needle, new leak jet,new main jet, quickshot2, and a FMF Q4. I have an '06. The JD Jet kit didn't work for me. I tried many variations many times. The headaches with it out weigh the small gain in power.

• Zeak

Posted February 09, 2009 - 07:42 AM

What sizes did you use?

Thanks

• 123BigcoopDawg576

Posted February 09, 2009 - 07:43 AM

1) pull the carb and figure out what jets are in it.

2) what is your normal temp and elivation that you ride?

3) my guess is you will need to get a 40 leak jet and the o-ring mod and this will fix your bog...:)

• kskyles

Posted February 09, 2009 - 07:44 AM

check out the jetting tutorial in the stickies. the '06 has easy carb access. open up the carb and see what your current needle settings are, then look at your jet sizes.

then check out the jetting database for your year bike and elevation to get a starting point.