Lost my rear brakes

10 replies to this topic
  • MaddogYZ

Posted January 24, 2009 - 11:57 AM

Last time I went riding I noticed I had almost no rear brake. I could lock up the tire but only if I completly bottomed out the pedal. I got around to bleeding them today and found no air bubbles in the line and I still don't have any feel at the pedal. I have plenty of pad thickness left and there are no leaks at any of the fittings. I'm thinking I have an issue with the mastercylinder, what do you guys think? Anything else I can troubleshoot to pinpoint the problem before I go ordering parts?

Thanks

• Krannie McKranface

Posted January 24, 2009 - 03:05 PM

Last time I went riding I noticed I had almost no rear brake. I could lock up the tire but only if I completly bottomed out the pedal. I got around to bleeding them today and found no air bubbles in the line and I still don't have any feel at the pedal. I have plenty of pad thickness left and there are no leaks at any of the fittings. I'm thinking I have an issue with the mastercylinder, what do you guys think? Anything else I can troubleshoot to pinpoint the problem before I go ordering parts?

Thanks

-Cracked Banjo fitting
-Torn master bladder
-Cracked line.

It takes me 20-40 minutes of bleeding to get a tight hydrualic circuit. Or a power bleeder.

• TRUE_2_YAMAHA_001

Posted January 25, 2009 - 10:44 PM

there could be a particle or 2 in the master cyclender. try taking it apart. they are relatively simple in terms of brakes. it could be as simple as that. or your master could be shot. i would bleed it more to be sure that there is nothing cloging the lines.

• matt4x4

Posted January 26, 2009 - 12:13 PM

I've heard of the lines themselves fatiguing and expanding under the pressure - effectively reducing your braking power, might take a look into that.

• MaddogYZ

Posted January 31, 2009 - 12:37 PM