weird problem with my 450f

4 replies to this topic
  • ChasNMe

Posted January 09, 2009 - 05:59 AM

Last time I went to the track my bike wouldnt run very well. I could start it up and idle but most of the time it would cut off when I tried to give it gas or put it in gear. I had recently had my valves adjusted because they were way off. If I remember correctly they were .16 .16 .21 int, .29 .50 exh. Anyway this was the first time riding after that, although the mechanic said he rode it around for awhile after the valve job.

I am not a mechanic by any means, I can change my fluids and do minor stuff but engine/carb issues are over my head. I had a friend show up and he knows a bit more than I do. First, he found the needle valve all the way in so we turned it out 2 turns and thought that would be it. Nope, same issue. Then we took the bottom off the carb thinking maybe it wasnt getting enough gas or something. Nope, the main jet was sitting there in the bottom. Wow, that must be it. We fixed that and thought I would be good to go. Nope, same issue.

I started to notice though that while leaning to the left, whether on the side stand or me starting it, it would run, but as soon as I pushed the bike over to the right side it would kick off. Immediately it would shut down, and I am talking about just past straight up. I told my friend what I thought and we tried it about 10 or 15 times. Started it and left it to the left 5 seconds sometimes, 20 seconds sometimes, 30 or more seconds a couple times, shift it over and dead, shut right off.

So we are thinking electrical issue. At first we thought it was a carb issue but if it was, I wouldnt think it would be immediately shutting off. What do you guys think? I appreciate the help. Jake

• grayracer513

Posted January 09, 2009 - 07:08 AM