Clutch Removal

12 replies to this topic
  • comxrdr

Posted December 30, 2008 - 04:18 PM

The clutch on my son's KX65 is slipping bad. I've never done a clutch before, but it really doesn't seem to hard. I got the cover off, but my question is how do you remove the main bolt (the service manual calls it the clutch hub nut. The service manual also says to hold the magneto flywheel with a puller tool, but I can't see what this does. I can hold it but the clutch still spins. I've got the spring bolts out, but how the heck do I get the clutch hub nut loose?

• hi_im_sean

Posted December 30, 2008 - 04:23 PM

The clutch on my son's KX65 is slipping bad. I've never done a clutch before, but it really doesn't seem to hard. I got the cover off, but my question is how do you remove the main bolt (the service manual calls it the clutch hub nut. The service manual also says to hold the magneto flywheel with a puller tool, but I can't see what this does. I can hold it but the clutch still spins. I've got the spring bolts out, but how the heck do I get the clutch hub nut loose?

its a nut, not a bolt. the correct way to do it is to put the springs and plate back on, remove the thrust bearing, and hold the flywheel with the tool, and remove the nut, just like the manual says. if you dont have the tool like most of us, then you can either use an impact gun, or you can take the case cover off, and jam a penny between the clucth hub gear and the primary gear, and remove the nut

• hodgkins

Posted December 30, 2008 - 04:34 PM

you don't need to pull the hub if you just plan on replacing the plates.

• comxrdr

Posted December 30, 2008 - 04:53 PM

you don't need to pull the hub if you just plan on replacing the plates.

I can't get the plates out without removing the hub.

• hodgkins

Posted December 30, 2008 - 04:59 PM