Where does one go ridind around LA?

6 replies to this topic
  • thaddeus

Posted January 30, 2003 - 08:55 AM

hey all, I'm knew to the dirt scene, after about 5 years on the street. Just got an xr650 (I know, way to big for a starter dirt bike) and am looking to go play around in the dirt, and just get used to the traction, terain diffrences, and figgure out &%$#@! I'm doing. ;-) can anyone suggest areas around northern LA county, southern Ventura county where it's legal to ride. Seeing as how I'm no mx expert, I dont want to have to run from the cops like so many I see out there in my home town where it apears to be a crime to be offroad :)

thanks.

-- James

• qadsan

Posted January 30, 2003 - 09:15 AM

This link should give you a good start.

http://www.bokasmo.c...ornia/wildomar/

• loufish

Posted January 31, 2003 - 06:44 PM

You can try Gorman, that's close, maybe 45 minutes from Burbank, Cal City just out from Mojave has some good trails.
Just got back from Dove Springs (where I had a head on collision with some one who never saw me coming) there's fun riding up there... let me know if that helps.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • lisa'sxr4

Posted February 03, 2003 - 06:08 AM

Thgere isn't too much really close to LA. But if your willing to drive 1-3 hours there is plenty to be found. The link provided earlier is great - used it a few times to find new riding areas. We enjoy Gorman, Johnson Valley, & after this past weekend Dove Springs/Jawbone.

We have also tried a spot in Menifee off the 215 at Ethanac. Variety of terrain and a small track. Great for a 1/2 to 3/4 day's ride. We saw folks riding off the 60 at Pyrite - but haven't been by to check it out.

Please check out the post about the Spring TT Ride in April - So Cal was going to meet at Hungry Valley (Gorman) but I think that may be changing!!

• TobCapone

Posted February 05, 2003 - 08:34 PM

Hey thaddeus,