Diagnosing why a dirt bike (2-stroke) won't start.

22 replies to this topic
  • xisabel

Posted December 26, 2008 - 06:22 PM

I have an RM. I have this same problem after it sits for like a month. I put the gas on, the choke, and kick, about 3 million times, 10,000 curse words - you get the idea. It never just starts.

It has about 5 hours on this thing - that's it. What's the first thing I should be looking at? Any links or otherwise would be great. I'm not a mechanic yet and have yet to even read the manual. Should I just take it to a shop and let them charge me - I"m assuming it's a minor issue. I don't know what a reed is, a float so I'm really at a loss. Got a lot of learning to do but haven't even got an experience riding partner to bounce things off yet.

• biker boy

Posted December 26, 2008 - 06:47 PM

cheep gas maybe?

• urlosin

Posted December 26, 2008 - 06:52 PM

Make sure you are draining old gas out of carb before turning on gas and trying to start.

• aakmetz

Posted December 26, 2008 - 06:53 PM

try this, turn gas on, wait about 3- 5 min, ( i usually put my gear on at this time) then use about 5 slow gentle kicks w/ choke on. then kick hard, the slow gentle kicks will draw fuel into the cyl, turning gas on and waiting will allow carb bowl to fill, make sure your plug is dry and clean also.

• xisabel

Posted December 26, 2008 - 07:07 PM

Cheap gas, not a chance. I'll try the 5 minute wait and see what happens

• redrider606

Posted December 26, 2008 - 07:23 PM

you need more curse words it works for me:thumbsup: :busted:

if nothing works the carb may need to be cleened from just sitting but sometimes when mine dont start they need new rings but i dont think thats your problem in this case

• mihylo33

Posted December 27, 2008 - 04:02 AM