Wr 450 Tps

4 replies to this topic
  • keano1066

Posted December 10, 2008 - 02:55 PM

Hi newbie here,just brought an 06 wr 450 i have a very slight splutter if i hold my throttle at half way open other than this the bike is perfect. i have read if i unplug the TPS this can be cured only thing is im not at all mechanically minded and i would like some advice on how to locate and unplug the TPS.thanks guys.

• stev0

Posted December 10, 2008 - 10:13 PM

on the left side next to the frame on the back/left side portion of the tank is a white plug that should be cable tied or something.. its about 2 inches in total. It big and white. you cant miss it.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • godhappan

Posted December 11, 2008 - 08:13 AM

I tried forever to get my bike to run right with it plugged in to no avail.

I unplugged and it runs like it's supposed to. it's like the only thing plugged into the carb. not hard to find at all.

• buggs bunny

Posted December 11, 2008 - 09:46 AM

why do you unplug the tps,do you get more power,and why dose it stutter is the jetting right?

• keano1066

Posted December 11, 2008 - 10:47 AM

the tps ive heard stops the ever so slight spluttering at half throttle i am experiencing.apparently its just the tps doing its job.the bike is standard with no mods except the exhaust bung has been removed.i removed the grey wire but i didnt notice much difference except it back fired more so i replaced it.its fast enough for me so i think im going to leave it alone plus if i mod it i have to jet it and as i said before im not at all mechanically minded.

Join Our Community!

Even if you don't want to post, registered members get access to tools that make finding & following the good stuff easier.

If you enjoyed reading about "" here in the ThumperTalk archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join ThumperTalk today!