cam chain hard to get on?

21 replies to this topic
  • niterider40

Posted December 07, 2008 - 03:16 PM

I'm trying to get the cam chain on for the first time and I can't seem to fit the two cams in their spots with the chain on. Is this as tricky as it seems? I watched a few dvds and am putting a used engine in a 426 the engine had the head off and I'm a beginner, thats why I sound so lame, what am I doing wrong? I took the chain tensioner out.

• Smokeslider

Posted December 07, 2008 - 03:47 PM

make sure the chain is set on the crank during this, if it's riding high, then that would cause you to have the described problems. Also, double check you have the right Cam chain.

• KJ790

Posted December 07, 2008 - 04:36 PM

Make sure you take the cam chain tensioner out first. I find it is easiest if I put one cam in with the chain looped over it, then tip that cam down (so the sprocket side is pointed down a little) and put the other cam under the chain and drop rock them both back into their respective places. I try to do it so that the timing is as close as possible first try, then adjust them however is necessary to get the right timing. It can be tricky at first.

• BC3

Posted December 07, 2008 - 08:17 PM

[COLOR="Blue"]This is a job that is seldom done by a beginner...Do yourself a favor and get some help from someone that has experience...
Bent valves and wasted time can be your alternative trying to do it yourself... [/COLOR]

• rexbond007

Posted December 07, 2008 - 10:17 PM

[COLOR="Blue"]This is a job that is seldom done by a beginner...Do yourself a favor and get some help from someone that has experience...
Bent valves and wasted time can be your alternative trying to do it yourself... [/COLOR]

every one has to learn some time, i did my first valve job and timing chain on my bike 5 years a go, i enjoyed the challenge to learn, thumper talk forum is about learning off each other.

• JimmyBee

Posted December 07, 2008 - 10:38 PM