2003 kx 125 help, advice, tips, and info?

11 replies to this topic
  • MxRacerZach

Posted December 07, 2008 - 11:37 AM

hey im pretty new to TT my last bike was a 2002 yz 125 but had to sell i now have the money to get another bike and i rly like the 03 kx 125's i rode my friends and fell in love i was just wondering if anyone had any input on these thanks

• Twitch yz125

Posted December 07, 2008 - 11:39 AM

why sell a 125 and buy another 125??

• crider400

Posted December 07, 2008 - 04:23 PM

First of all, the 125 is entirely new from the ground up in 03'. Even the engine was designed from scratch. The frame is entirely new. It has new wheels, and several new components, such as new rear brake master cylinder, new rear swingarm, new reed design, new carburetor (Mikuini TMX "Kai" -- the bore is tapered from 38mm to 40mm, and features a unique throttle slide shape), the rear hub is new, the ignition is new, the airbox is new (with increased volume and straighter intake tract), and the clutch is new. Believe it or not, this just scratches the surface on the changes to the 125.

Design goals for the KX125 included a more compact chassis, lighter weight and more, broader power. Kawasaki also claims a lower center of gravity for the 2003 KX125. Overall, the KX125 is six pounds lighter, and should feel much smaller, as well. Reversing a trend for modern motocross bikes, the seat height is more than one inch lower. The mid-section of the bike (see picture below of the 250 -- sharing the same mid-section) is also much slimmer.

Kawasaki is staying with a six-speed transmission on its KX125, realizing that many customers use the bikes for more than just motocross.

• Kawiguy602

Posted December 07, 2008 - 08:32 PM