Black deposits around the tail-end of the Exhaust

12 replies to this topic
  • akanana

Posted December 06, 2008 - 07:34 AM

I am experiencing black deposits around the tail-end of the Exhaust of my 2007 YZ450F. Also, the bike is some-what easer to kick now. I have about 50 hours of mostly easy riding (no racing). The bike consumes a little bet of oil of about 100-110ml for every 3 hours of riding. My question is: I am due for piston/rings/cam chain replacement? Or can I get say another 20-30 hours of riding without damaging the engine. Thanks in advance for your replies.

• finthat

Posted December 06, 2008 - 08:26 AM

I'm no expert but it sounds like topend. If it is easier to kick probably rings ect.

• Deathdeelr

Posted December 06, 2008 - 10:14 PM

I would second the motion for rings but could your mixture be off. Oily deposits definitely say rings but a dry black deposit could mean too fat a mixture.

• JSanfilippo

Posted December 06, 2008 - 11:16 PM

I would second the motion for rings but could your mixture be off. Oily deposits definitely say rings but a dry black deposit could mean too fat a mixture.

I second this.

If its dry the bike is probably just running a little fat. Have someone ride behind you and tell them to pay careful attention to what comes out of the exhaust when you're hard on the gas. If its black and sooty, its just a rich air/fuel mix. If its the blue stuff that usually comes out of clapped out CRFs then yeah your rings are shot.

• magiksc

Posted December 07, 2008 - 09:58 AM

How much easier is it to kick? It will obviously become a little easier after breakin and some time but if it is like night and day with only 50hrs then I'd agree with the rings.

• BC3

Posted December 07, 2008 - 08:32 PM