05' Yz450 exhaust ?'s

16 replies to this topic
  • Dusty Ratcliff

Posted November 25, 2008 - 08:15 AM

Hey I'm new to the 4stroke world, just recently picked up an 05' YZ450 from a friend, the bike had maybe 2 hrs of ride time on a factory rebuild (local dealership) & it seems like a great bike, has lots of power, but still seems to lack a little compared to my 01' CR 250r the bottom end is obviously better, but it just falls off in the higher rpm's was wondering if a better exhaust would help? it's got a 50T rear sprocket & factory front (could be factory rear too but I know it's a 50T??????) & I think he said it had a set of barnett dirt digger clutches?? what would be the best $ spent on this thing to pep it up a bit??? thanks alot! Dusty

• grayracer513

Posted November 25, 2008 - 09:25 AM

A Vortex ignition, or the CDI from an '04.

• Dusty Ratcliff

Posted November 25, 2008 - 10:11 AM

what's the difference in the CDI from an 04' bike?? also will a slip on muffler help performance any without buying the whole exhaust kit?? thanks! Dusty

• grayracer513

Posted November 25, 2008 - 11:25 AM

Slip-ons for the '03-'05 YZ450 are mostly bling. The stock pipe is very good, and it not that easily improved on.

The CDI unit controls the "map" for how and when the ignition timing is advanced or retarded. The map on the '04 was much more aggressive than the '05. Not sure if the connectors match up between the two years, but the timing map is the only real difference in the '03/'04 and the '05 as far as power goes.

• yzridda91

Posted November 25, 2008 - 02:11 PM