Need some opinions on what's twisted.

7 replies to this topic
  • qwik12beat

Posted November 10, 2008 - 12:10 PM

I laid my 450 over the other day. I was shredding a right hand turn when i lost the front, and went down.I have gone over the bike, and found the things that need replaced. My question is about the triple clamps.
When my bars are straight, my front wheel is pointed right about an inch.The handlebars are straight, and true with the top clamp. I'm thinking i twisted the stem, but i need to hear it from someone else. One guy asked if i bent my forktube.I told him i guess it's possible, but i've been riding for 22 years, and never have seen one bend. Any other idea's or methods to check for bends? Any help is greatly appreciated.:worthy:

• mandark

Posted November 10, 2008 - 12:11 PM

Try loosening up your triple clamps and work your suspension a few times to see if it helps

• qwik12beat

Posted November 10, 2008 - 12:28 PM

Do you mean the nut on the top clamp or the bolts that clamp the forktubes?thanks for the speedy reply:thumbsup:Any special way to make sure my alignment is dead-on?I tried loosening the top clamp nut after it happen, and it didnt seem to move.

• clutchless

Posted November 10, 2008 - 01:06 PM

YZ's forks tend to slip in the stock clamps a bit more then other bikes.

just loosen them up and re align and you should be all set.

also the bar mounts on the upper clamp can get out of wack too.

re align your bars in the clamps on the measurment marks.

then make sure the bar mounts are straight, then do the forks follow up with the front wheel.

i just eyeball it.

This happens to me every other ride so i am getting good at it.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • yamaha542

Posted November 10, 2008 - 01:08 PM