09 prices

12 replies to this topic
  • erickdj

Posted November 05, 2008 - 10:36 AM

I don't know if I've been living under a rock or what, but just today I realized how much new bike prices had gone up. A new yz450f is going for $7400 at otdcyclesports, which means that most likely my local dealer in town is selling them for close to $9k OTD :lol: :lol: :lol: :worthy: I'm so glad I bought my 08 for $6200 last year. This means that at least in the foreseeable future there won't be any more brand new bikes for me, it's all going to be used from now on.:eek: :banghead: The good thing is that the 08 yz450's are so good that I can just keep it for a long time and I won't be missing out on much vs. the new bikes. Besides, I'm a newbie at riding, so it will be a long time before I can say that I'm pushing it to the limit.:bonk: My other bike is a 2007 wr450f, which is also a damn good bike. So I guess I'm good for a good few years.

• grayracer513

Posted November 05, 2008 - 10:49 AM

They are almost brand new, and there are still '08's to sell. Those can't be marked down too much because Yamaha pulled back the incentives.

What some dealers do is not always easy to understand. There was one close to me that I asked for a cash price on an '06. His response was MSRP (then $7200) + tax and fees. I went and bought one for my son for $6300 OTD somewhere else. A year and a half later (Sept '07), the first dealer still had the same Anniversary Edition on the floor. I asked how much it was, and he said, "$7400, OTD. I don't know if he ever sold it.

• Family Man

Posted November 05, 2008 - 11:20 AM