WR426 No Start

8 replies to this topic
  • Guyver

Posted November 01, 2008 - 09:20 PM

I spent all morning prepping up my gear/cleaning up the garage so I could go out for a ride this afternoon. I gas up the bike, check the oil, airfilter and started it up. No problems.

I get out to the trails. It won't start. I had turned off the gas after I warmed it up this morning. It was off when I pulled it out of the trailor. I kick and kick - no luck. I decide to bump it. Go down a hill second gear no luck. I tried third gear still no luck. The engine was turning over but no real firing. After a few tries I notice some gas leaking from the overflow lines. I tried all the different combinations of hot start and choke and still no luck. I'm a rookie at working on bikes but I have a friend who's real good.

Any suggestions?

PS. It really sucked to get out there and not be able to ride! Not to mention the sweat I worked up pushing that sucker uphill five times.

• alfie

Posted November 02, 2008 - 01:34 AM

yam wr's are prone to fluffing the spark plugs so try changing that first. ive also found out that your better of sticking to the stock plug rather using the iridium spark plugs. hope that helps

• byggd

Posted November 02, 2008 - 03:32 AM

I agree with alfie, sounds like the plug fouled but I disagree with the iridium plug statement. IMO they are the best you can run and in most reports make the bike easier to start. You can try holding the throttle all the way open, hot start on, hold kill switch and decompress lever and kick it a dozen times or so then try to start as usual.

• Guyver

Posted November 02, 2008 - 06:56 AM

Thanks for your responses. I'll switch the plug out. Should I take the carb apart for cleaning? It was done a few months ago by the shop.

Visit the ThumperTalk Store for the lowest prices on motorcycle / ATV parts and accessories - Guaranteed
  • erickdj

Posted November 02, 2008 - 07:09 AM