1998 YZ 400f Starting Sequence

11 replies to this topic
  • logger73

Posted October 28, 2008 - 10:13 PM

I am having trouble starting my 1998 yz 400f both cold and hot. Since I am new to this bike, I have checked into and heard that there may be a strict starting sequence. If so, does anyone know what that might be. If this has already been posted I apologize, but did not find it through the search engine. Thanks!Q

• grayracer513

Posted October 29, 2008 - 05:17 AM

Did you look in the Common Threads Sticky? You know, the one that says, "look here first"?

At the bottom of the page, there are links to two videos by Doug Dubach explaining the whole thing.

• logger73

Posted October 29, 2008 - 06:04 AM

Thanks for your info and patience.

• grayracer513

Posted October 29, 2008 - 07:28 AM

Something that you also want to be aware of is that even when "the drill" is properly executed, the YZF's, and YZ400's in particular, are exceptionally fussy about being properly tuned. Check the sticky for links regarding adjustment of the idle circuit (see Fuel System), and keep a fresh plug in it.

:lol:

• logger73

Posted October 29, 2008 - 09:33 AM

With regard to the plug, is there a brand that is more effective and more reliable?

• jayh300

Posted October 29, 2008 - 09:43 AM

and.... once you learn it, the are pretty easy, atleast mine was. I read on here somewhere, to learn the starting drill and practice it till you get it right. And that is easier to do on your own time frame, not when all your buddies have already left you at the truck. does yours still have a manual decomp lever??
My 400 still had the manual decomp when i bought it, and the main thing on it along with the starting ritual, was to keep your hand off the throttle. I started mine with my hand on the master cyl to keep away from any twist.
I flooded mine when i first got it home and kicked on it for hours.....
Once i got the drill down, and a new plug in it, 3 to 4 max kicks cold, 1 or 2 once warmed up.